Month: May 2012

Police boosting presence in Minneapolis

According to a report from WCCO If you’re planning on partying in downtown Minneapolis this summer, be prepared to see more police officers walking the streets and in squad cars.

They say Police and the Hennepin County Sheriff’s Department will be closely monitoring the downtown crowds this summer to try and prevent potential violence.

There have been several fights and shootings after the bars close and club crowds let out.

Downtown crime is relatively low, but it has recently spiked by up to 56 percent.

If you are cited or arrested remember you can always contact the Flanagan Law Office, in Hugo, Minnesota, to speak with an experienced attorney about your situation and to learn more information about your rights.

You can call our office anytime: (651) 200-3484.

More crazy laws from around the U.S.

We’ve already told you about some seemingly ridiculous laws here in Minnesota, but now here are some more from around the country!

  • In Oklahoma, bear wrestling is against the law. Punishment includes jail time up to 1 year and a $2000.00 fine!
  • In Philadelphia, bloggers must buy a $300.00 license. A blogger who had only earned $11 from blogging was prosecuted for not having this license.
  • In Florida, deadly force is justified even if you simply “believe” you’re being threatened. Also it is now illegal for Doctors to ask patients if they own a gun.
  • In Utah, 70-year-old Betty Perry was handcuffed, violently arrested and prosecuted for not watering her lawn in Utah.
  • In California drivers’ 18 and under cannot use LAPTOPS while driving.
  • A United States federal law makes it illegal to issue a fake Weather Bureau forecast.

If you are cited or arrested for any of these “situations” you can always contact the Flanagan Law Office, in Hugo, Minnesota, to speak with an experienced attorney about your situation and to learn more information about your rights.

Office: (651) 200-3484.

Firearm Laws in Minnesota

Some people get confused between State and Federal firearm laws. Here are some answers from the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to help you stay out of trouble!

Where can I apply for a permit to carry a pistol?  

Minnesota residents can get permits by submitting an application and other documentation to the Sheriff in the County where they reside. Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota County Sheriff.

Can I apply for a permit to carry if I am not a U.S. citizen but have permanent resident status in the U.S.?

Yes, when you apply you’ll need to provide the Sheriff with your I-551 or I-151 card, whichever one you have been issued.

Where can I get a permit to carry application?

Applications are available at the county Sheriff’s office and on the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension website.

Can a non-resident mail in a permit to carry application or obtain a Minnesota permit to carry without being physically present?

No. Applications must be submitted in person to a Minnesota County Sheriff.

What are the requirements for getting a permit to carry?

  • Must be at least 21 years old
  • Must complete an application form
  • Must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under Minnesota Statute 624.714
  • Must not be listed in the criminal gang investigation system
  • Must be a resident of the county from which you are requesting a permit
  • Must provide certificate of completed authorized firearms training

You can get more information on the current Minnesota laws here.

If you are cited or arrested remember you can always contact the Flanagan Law Office, in Hugo, Minnesota, to speak with an experienced attorney about your situation and to learn more information about your rights.

You can call our office anytime: (651) 200-3484.

Minnesota Drunk Driving Laws

According to research, a person’s ability to drive becomes impaired when the amount of alcohol in his or her bloodstream reaches 0.08% or higher. Federal law suggests imposing a 0.08% blood alcohol content limit across all 50 states, however each state has the right to set its own BAC limits. Minnesota lawmakers agree with the federal guidelines, so it’s illegal for anyone in the state to operate a vehicle with a BAC of 0.08% or more.

Minneapolis DUI AttorneyMinnesota law restricts the amount of alcohol underage drivers and commercial vehicle operators can have in their system even further. Under state law, a driver under 21 is considered “drunk” or “impaired” once their BAC reaches 0.02%, while individuals of any age who operate a commercial vehicle (like a tow truck, bus, or tractor-trailer) face a DWI charge if they have a BAC of 0.04% or higher.

To calculate a driver’s BAC, law enforcement rely on testing methods like breathalyzers and blood or urine tests. If an officer suspects a driver is impaired, a chemical test will be given to determine the suspect’s level of impairment. In Minnesota, it is against the law to refuse to perform this test and, if you fail to comply with the request, you’ll be charged with a criminal offense—and in some cases, face even harsher penalties than you would have if you had failed the test.

For your first DWI conviction in Minnesota, your penalties may include a fine of up to $1,000, a 90-day license suspension, and/or 90-day jail sentence. For a second conviction the maximum punishment including a 180-day license suspension and 1-year jail sentence.

After three convictions, any subsequent DWI charge will be treated as a felony, carrying up to a 7-year jail sentence and $14,000 fine, and result in the permanent loss of your voting rights and eligibility to travel outside of the country and even purchase firearms. And, regardless of whether it’s your first or fourth offense, you will face much harsher penalties if you were travelling with a passenger under 16 at the time of you arrest or had a BAC of 0.16% or more.

If you are cited or arrested remember you can always contact the Flanagan Law Office, in Hugo, Minnesota, to speak with an experienced attorney about your situation and to learn more information about your rights.
Office: (651) 200-3484.